Next Prev

Vocational Stage

Once you have completed the academic stage of your legal education, the next stage is an approved vocational or practical course in law. The most common is the Professional Practise Course ("PPC"), which is a full time program that lasts approximately 10 months and is available at the Truman Bodden Law School in the Cayman Islands. Other equivalent courses available outside of the Cayman Islands are the Legal Practice Course ("LPC") for solicitors in the United Kingdom and the Bar Professional Training Course ("BPTC") for barristers in the United Kingdom.

Please note, however, that, the UK's Solicitors Regulation Authority ("SRA") issued a statement on 25 April 2017 that it plans to introduce an independent assessment, the Solicitor's Qualifying Examination ("SQE") in 2020.  The SQE will replace the current system of qualification in the UK. This may result in courses such as the GDL/CPE and the LPC being replaced by the SQE.

More information on the SQE program can be found on the UK's Solicitors Regulation Authority's website at:

The entry requirements for the PPC are set out in the Student Regulations. Under the Student Regulations, any student who wishes to enrol in the PPC program is required to possess the right to be Caymanian within the meaning of the Immigration Law (2015 Revision) (or, if they do not possess that status, that they have obtained the written consent of the Cabinet); and obtained a Qualifying Law Degree ("QLD"), and have attained at least a lower second class degree (i.e. 2:2)  (See Regulations 27B and C of the Student Regulations).

The PPC subjects taught currently at the Truman Bodden Law of the Cayman Islands include the following:

  • Criminal Procedure and Evidence
  • Civil Procedure and Evidence
  • Conveyancing
  • Succession Law
  • Legal Accounting
  • Cayman Statute Law Part I-Private Client
  • Corporate Practice
  • Professional Conduct and Ethics
  • Practical Legal Research

Upon successful completion of the PPC, students are eligible to move onto the next stage of their qualification process, Articles of Clerkship.